Thursday, December 15, 2016

Uh-Oh ~ Round 4

At the same time as the beetles already engaged by the party attack, four more beetles emerge out of the glowing hex at 1103.
If the one image per round gets confusing, and you'd like
me to make sure I put up a layout image before the enemies
attack, please say so.  Engelhart's position is corrected.

We'll leave those four beetles up there by the hole for now.  The beetle fighting Aleksandra doesn't leave its hex either, attacking with a 12, not enough to hit AC 6.

The other beetle, driven back to 1008 by Lothar, shifts around to hex 1009 and attacks.  It rolls a 2 and misses.

That brings us back to the party again.  Everyone can move; Rowan is down on the barrow floor, so he is included.  Take whatever action seems appropriate at this time.

22 comments:

Aleksandra Ivanovna said...

It looks like Lothar and I are flanking the beetle in 1009. What are the benefits to attacking in that situation? I don't see them on the wiki.

Aleksandra Ivanovna said...

Never mind. Found it. Sorry for the extraneous question.

I will attack the beetle in 1009 to take advantage of the flanking benefits. That's 17-2+1=16 to hit and 5 damage.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Don't forget to state that you're turning back to the other beetle, else your own flank will be attacked.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Because Aleksandra has a 17 dexterity, she can make the attack before Lothar, so that leaves Lothar and Engelhart without any impediments to movement. You're not in a melee hex.

Alexis Smolensk said...

You're actually directly in the rear of the beetle you attacked, Aleksandra; so that should be a +2 benefit instead of a +1. You would receive only +1 if you were in hexes 1108 or 1010.

Aleksandra Ivanovna said...

Thanks, Alexis. That is a 17 to-hit, then and still 5 damage.

I then turn back to the beetle in 1209.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I point markedly at the sarcophagus and shout "Defend the high ground!" (-1 AP)

I then hop off and go straight at 1209 for a flank attack (-4 AP);

Attack Roll: 1.

Damage Roll: 6.

Lothar Svensson said...

I head towards the same beetle as Engelhart, taking the path 1008 1107 1208 and attack the beetle.

To hit: 15-2(sick)+1(flank)=14

Damage: 6(!)-2(sick)+1(great conditioning)= 5 total damage

Maxwell Joslyn said...

2 AP: walk 0608, walk 0707
If I can start climbing this round I do so, otherwise I climb later. (I'll check in with you guys tomorrow night)

Alexis Smolensk said...

Aleksandra, your five damage succeeds in killing the beetle in 1009. It had 4 hp left.

For the record, the one that Gudbrand killed had 6 hp.

Engelhart, I hope you see this: you drop your hammer. It bounces into 1208, under Lothar's feet (he's attacking from 1208 when Engelhart is). Could Engelhart please roll a d6 to see if the hammer breaks?

Lothar does not kill, but does successfully stun the beetle in hex 1209. It skitters back to 1210 and will take no action the next round.

Waiting for Rowan and Gudbrand.


Alexis Smolensk said...

[In general, it is going to be somewhat difficult to deal with dexterity vs. who posts first regarding who enters what square. If Lothar had so wanted, for instance, he had the dexterity to beat Engelhart to 1108; but Engelhart posted first.

I've used the dex rule for a long time and I called on it by default in the last round. Perhaps I shouldn't use it here? Or perhaps we can let the higher dexterity VETO if the lower dexterity character rushes into a hex first. I think I prefer that, as I don't mind adjusting the map up until I actually have to publish it.

Alexis Smolensk said...

[OOC: Maxwell, you go up that twine and you're out of this campaign.

Exactly what are you doing? No one here asked you to leave; your companions are in the midst of a fight with at least five creatures at the moment and you're abandoning them? Why? Because I rolled for Gudbrand?

Makes no sense ~ I assume this has something to do with you feeling that you don't actually have time for the campaign, perhaps only not now, perhaps not at all ~ but even if that is true, and you need until tomorrow night before you have more free time, why leave??? Why not just stand your ground?

I don't wish to offend, but I thought you had made a commitment here. Don't act hastily ~ think out what you're doing]

Rowan said...

I'll draw my club and advance to 0909, turning to face the beetle in 1009. That is between 3 and 4, depending on if the club is a "heavy" or "light" one handed weapon, which leaves no AP to attack this round.

My spear is 6 feet long and was resting, last I saw, in 0908. Would it be possible to reach for it from my current hex in a future round, even though Lothar currently occupies that space?

Equally, does the club gain any bonuses to-hit or damage from wielding it in two hands?

Alexis Smolensk said...

I must have misunderstood. I have put your spear in 0908, stabbed into the ground, represented by a small circle. I've given Rowan a club.

The beetle in 1009 is dead already.

The club weighs 3.5 lbs. Does that help?

There are never any extra bonuses of any kind for using any weapon in any particular way.

Rowan said...

It helps for future reference, thank you.

I have 1 AP remaining, so with the beetle in 1009 dead I'll spend it to advance into 1009, unless you rule that I've declared my movement for the round, which I'm equally fine with.

Clarifying the bit with the spear, after some thought, strikes me as unecessary. I have no reason to think I'd ever be able to reach something from an adjacent hex that did not protrude into said adjacent hex by a significant margin.

Alexis Smolensk said...

". . . unless you rule I've declared my movement . . ."

Gawd, I hate those games.

If you have an AP before the end of the round is declared that hasn't been used, for heaven's sake, of course you can use it!

Regarding the adjacency of hexes:

Try to imagine two combatants standing in conjoined hexes like electrons moving in valence shells. They're in combat; they thrust, parry, push against each other, flow over and back between the two hexes like subshells or atomic orbitals. That's why the "melee hex" costs extra to move out of; because the enemy is floating around inside their valence shell, messing with the valence shells composing a circle around the combatant.

So you're not "reaching" into an adjacent hex. Your character is simply "represented" as being in this particular hex, even though you're actually moving throughout the center hex and on the edge of the six surrounding hexes continuously as combat ensues. Does that help with your sense of distance?

Rowan said...

It does, but regardless I like advancing along with my comrades-in-arms better this round.

Speaking of comrades, let's crush some bugs!

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I rolled a '2' for my hammer breakage. I'll set about retrieving it next round...

Alexis Smolensk said...

Engelhart, your hammer isn't broken. It's fine.

[OOC: I'm going to take a rest for tonight and perhaps for tomorrow night as well. I am not working Sunday at all ~ I have the day off. Let's take that day and make some headway on the adventure!]

Alexis Smolensk said...

[OOC: Anyone still out there?

Surprise vacation today. After three hours this morning, the outside -35 C weather caused a pipe in the restaurant to burst. Water turned off, no cooking today! So I am home early; anyone want to run?]

I'm not hearing anything from Maxwell . . . so I have no idea if he's still in this. I have a long and positive history with him, so I'll give him some rope; but in the meanwhile, let's just leave him fretting in 0609.

Everyone else has moved, so I'll start getting the next round of combat up.

Aleksandra Ivanovna said...

Sounds good!

Alexis Smolensk said...

I let myself get distracted. The next round is up.