Thursday, February 16, 2017

Wood You Believe It? ~ Round 5

There are only two root-creatures left.  These have been engaged by Embla and Valda, so they turn away from Pandred and her difficulties, to attack the other two women.

A 2 is rolled against Valda, missing.

Against Embla the creature in 0509 rolls an 18.  This certainly hits.  Embla gets off lucky, however, taking but 3 damage.  Since she has 17 hit points before the hit, she isn't stunned.  This leaves the present arrangement:

Willa is loaded and may fire.  Petar can start loading this round.  No one is stunned, so everyone can act.

Following the player's move, the position is as follows:


Lothar Svensson said...

I'll have Fjall move up into hex 0410 and attack the rootbeast in 0409 along with Valda, while Lothar moves to hex 0510 and attacks the rootbeast in 0509. Bergthora will move around to hex 0408, using all of her AP to get there.

Fjall's attack: 11+1(Bless)=12
d6: 3

Lothar's attack: 6+1(Bless)=7

Pandred said...

Pandred shrugs Fjall off, stepping into 0510 and swinging at the creature in 0509.

d20 = 16 (+1Bless,+1STR) Total 18

d6= 5 (+3STR) Total 8

Then she'll step back into 0511 with her remaining 2 AP.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I'll wait for Embla to make room for me, I may attack if the beast is still standing by then.

Alexis Smolensk said...


You and Pandred have the same dexterity ~ but Pandred is only one hex away from 0510, so I'm putting her there. Would you like to give me a different move? Also, Valda's attack? Fjall's attack on 0409 is a miss. I'm discounting Lothar's roll, so if you have a different attack, roll again.


That is a hit. It stuns 0509.


That is no problem; you and Embla both have the same dexterity, so you start simultaneously together. It is fair for you to wait for her.

Lothar Svensson said...

Pandred said she would move back into 0511 after her attack, does that leave the way open for me?

My bad forgetting Valda's attack...
To hit: 7+1(Bless)=8
d6 (though I'm pretty sure it's a miss): 1

Embla Strand said...

I had only 14hp walking into this fight. It's still not a stun, but I wanted to let folks know.

Embla attacks 509: 5+1(Str)+1(Bless)=7 and 8+1(Str)=9 damage.

Embla retreats into 608.

Willa fires at 509. 5+1(Bless)=6. 6 damage.

Petar aims at 509.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I'm not overly thrilled with the skipping back and forth for two people to attack the same monster from the same hex in the same round, particularly in a tight space like the one depicted ~ it is somewhat like watching the Lords of the Dance ~ but there is no rule against it at the present time nor any justification for such a rule that I can think to concoct. So yes, Lothar, you may jump into 0510 and attack.

[clearly, the encumbrance rules are simply not harsh enough ~ but I said I would let those ride for some months and I will]

Engelhart, Embla leaves the space open for you as well.

Apart from Pandred, everyone has missed.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I occupy Embla's former space and attack.

Attack roll: 19.

Damage roll: 2.

Alexis Smolensk said...

That's a definite hit, Engelhart. The creature reacts similarly to the one described earlier . . . suggesting it is near its demise.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Lothar, since you said you did want to go to 0510 and swing, and since that is where you did, in fact, wind up, I guess I will count your swing as a miss and move on to the next round.

This thing looks like a really bad football play . . . but I have updated the post above with the players' movements. I'll get started on the next round.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.